Vital Statistics - Marriage Licenses
- A marriage license must be applied for in person by both of the applicants. If it is not possible for both to appear in person, a verification statement provided by the County Recorder’s Office will need to be signed by the missing applicant. The missing applicant’s signature must be notarized on the verification statement and it must be returned to the County Recorder’s Office before the marriage license is issued.
- To obtain a marriage license you must be 18 years of age. A person of the full age of 16 years may, with the consent of the person’s legal custodial parents, guardian, or the court as provided in MN State Statute 517.07, receive a license to marry, upon approval of the district court judge where the minor resides.
- You must be married in Minnesota within 6 months from the date the marriage license is issued.
- An applicant who has a felony conviction may use a different name after marriage only as authorized under MN State Statute 259.13.
- The marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is $40.00. In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the parties must submit a signed, notarized statement on the person’s letterhead who provided the premarital education confirming that it was received.
- The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister’s designee. A person authorized to solemnize marriages under section 517.18 or a person authorized to solemnize marriages under MN State Statute 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under MN State Statute 148B.33. (* See format below)
- $115.00 without premarital education
- $40.00 with proper educator’s statement at the time of marriage license application.
- Payment for a Marriage License can be cash, check, or credit card and is payable at the time of application.
Apply in person at: Get form here - Fill out and Print Off
Renville County Courthouse
County Recorder’s Office – Suite 203 2nd Floor
500 E DePue Ave
*The educator's statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph (b) must be in the following form: “I, (Name of educator), confirm that (Names of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota statutes, section 14813.33.”
The names of the parties in the educator’s statement must be identical to the legal names of the parties as they appear in the marriage license application.